WASCC Members at Targa West

by Cameron Edwards

The Make Smoking History Targa West was conducted for the 15th time, on the 8th Р11th August, 2019. The competitors competed on closed road special stages in and around Perth, Whiteman Park, Muchea, Ellenbrook, Kalamunda, Parkerville, Toodyay, Chittering and Bullsbrook, as well as Malaga before the finalé at the City of Perth Special Stage along Riverside Drive next to the spectacular Swan River.

A wide variety of cars competed, including Classics to more modern turbocharged cars and even a range of Electric Vehicles.  And what event would be complete without an exotic or two.

Once again, the WASCC members were heavily involved with a large number of competitors across the Classic and Modern Categories.

In the Classics Category, congratulations must go to Bruce Lake/Peter Hall for taking 2nd place in their 1971 Datsun 240Z, and to Kim Stewart for taking 3rd place in the 1965 Ford Mustang GT350.

In the Modern Category, congratulations must go to Peter Major/Kim Screaigh for taking 1st place Outright in their 2004 Porsche 996 Turbo and to Peter Rullo for taking 2nd place Outright in the 2019 Lotus Exige Sport 410.

To all the other WASCC Members who competed: Nick Rahimtulla, Paul Pernechele, Ben Trager, Paul Crute, Dean Pike, Drew Nutton, Mark Greenham, Steph Esterbauer, Jamie Gilbert, Michael Steele, Brett Gascoigne, James Moffitt, Jodi Moffitt and Doug Stevenson, well done over the 4 day event throughout the Perth region.

Also, to all the WASCC Officials who were on hand across the vast area of competition, volunteering your time once again to help motorsport in WA continue to be the great sport that it is to all that are involved.