Point2Point Series Finale

by Cameron Edwards

The 2019 Point2Point ShootOut Series has been run and won. In its second year of competition, the 2019 series introduced the Sprint category to the original ShootOut concept. The concept has been a great success introducing new competitors as it challenges the drivers to see how fast they believe they can go throughout the layout. Drivers are asked to give an ETA (estimated time) at the start of the run, as a challenge to themselves. This also adds to the variety of winners in the series, as they don’t necessarily need the fastest car.

The 2019 series also introduced a new layout that incorporated the ‘bus stop’ section in turn 3. This was a great addition to the already varied layouts the P2P Series offers, and we will look at using this section again in the future.

A huge congratulations to Damian Heaton (EVO X) for winning the Sprint category, and to Nick Orme (Focus RS) for winning the ShootOut category!

The 2020 Point2Point ShootOut Series will kick off again early in the year, with some added attractions in the pipeline. We would really like to do a twilight event and are also looking into a regional event held over a weekend so that we can make it a more social gathering for all involved. Once all the finer details are locked away, we will spread the word so that everyone can take advantage of this series and enjoy their motoring…..stay tuned for more!!

A big thank you to Tony and Jayne Beresford from MotorSport Timing and Live Results for all the event timing, and a huge thank you to all the volunteer Officials that help us run the events. Without your assistance, this type of event wouldn’t be possible, so thank you!

Lastly, a humongous thank you to all the competitors who have supported this series. It is awesome to see so many competitors out enjoying themselves, enjoying driving their cars and enjoying the challenging layouts. It is always great to catch up with competitors at events and get feedback, have a chat and hear the stories from each run through the course.

We look forward to seeing everyone in 2020!